SEQ Premier League Season Concludes

The inaugural season of the SEQ Futsal Premier League ended with a stunning two day Finals Series showcasing some of the finest futsal talent in Australia.

All six clubs in the competition were represented in a hotly contested tournament that saw 158 goals, 24 matches, eight teams crowned Grand Final Champions and three players named Connor awarded Goal Keeper of the Season for their respective age divisions.

Sunshine Coast Wave claimed the overall Club Championship based on combined points across all ages over the season and capped off the Series with four grand final wins. South Brisbane Futsal claimed three titles while Peninsula Futsal Club’s U14 Boys won their final over Sunshine Coast to earn their clubs first double in the competition.

The Open Women’s Final saw the Golden Boot winner Bethany Ashton from Arana United up against Goal Keeper of the Season Jessica McLean from South Brisbane. South Brisbane were the first to draw blood with an early goal however were unable to captialise with the score remaining 1-0 at half time. From there South Brisbane ran away with the game in the second half, finishing 4-0 and claiming the double after winning the premiership during the regular season.

Rivals South Brisbane and Sunshine Coast Wave faced off in an intense Open Men’s Final that saw the game go down to the wire. Having claimed the premiership Sunshine Coast Wave were eager to come out on top however ultimately fell short to South Brisbane 3-4.

2016/17 SEQ Futsal Premier League Results/Awards

12 Boys – Premiers & Champions (Undefeated)
14 Girls – Semi Finalists
14 Boys – Grand Finalists – Runners Up
16 Girls – Premiers & Champions
16 Boys – Premiers & Champions (Undefeated)
Youth Men – Premiers & Champions (Undefeated)
Premier Women – Semi Finalists
Premier Men – Premiers & Runners Up

Individual Awards
12 Boys – Maxx Demerutis (Joint Golden Boot)
14 Girls – Ariana AJ Grieco – Best Goalkeeper
14 Boys – Jacob Smith – Golden Boot
16 Boys – Jyi Oakes – Golden Boot
16 Girls – Jazlyn Salih – Golden Boot
Youth Men – Gavin Stein – Best Goalkeeper, Joshua Nisbet – Golden Boot and MVP
Premier Men – Jake Nalder – Best Goalkeeper and Bruno Cannavan MVP


No Replies to "SEQ Premier League Season Concludes"